We are available 24/7
Counties Served: Alameda, Contra Costa, San Francisco and Solano

New Client Special

Click Here to Call

Understanding the 7 Stages of Alzheimer’s Disease

Understanding the 7 Stages of Alzheimer’s Disease

Here are quick facts about Alzheimer’s disease lifted from the Alzheimer’s Association:

  • One American gets diagnosed with AD every 65 seconds.
  • In every 10 American seniors at least 65 years old, one acquires AD.
  • In every 3 American seniors, one perishes from AD or some other type of dementia.
  • Deaths from AD increased at a rate of 145% between the years 2000 and 2017.
  • AD, just like any type of dementia, is incurable and progressive, but it can be slowed down.

Our Caregivers in California are well-trained to provide assistance to your loved one with AD, especially if they prefer to remain at home. Because of this, when your loved one acquires AD, you can take comfort in the fact that care professionals can attend to their needs to allow you to focus on supporting them.

If you have a loved one diagnosed with AD, you will need to prepare for their long-term care. To serve as your guide in the preparations, here are the stages you will encounter:

  1. Normal Behavior Outward
    In this initial stage, the symptoms of AD will not be visible unless your loved one undergoes an imaging test that shows how their brain is presently working.
  2. Very Mild Changes
    At this stage, your loved one will still be displaying the normal behavior except for some instances of forgetting some words or misplacing their things. However, this forgetfulness will not disrupt their everyday activities.
  3. Mild Decline
    In this stage, the symptoms of AD become more noticeable, especially with the way they think or reason. For instance, they will forget about something that they have just read minutes ago or they repeatedly ask the same question.
  4. Moderate Decline
    Along with the previously mentioned manifestations, this stage also reveals other issues, such as forgetting personal information, not remembering what day it is, or not being able to cook their own food. At this point, non-medical home care providers can assist you.
  5. Moderately Severe Decline
    With this decline in memory, your loved one will not have the ability to remember their present location and even the things they own. However, they can still do tasks independently, such as dressing themselves.
  6. Severe Decline
    In this stage, your loved one’s forgetfulness and cognitive issues worsen. They are difficult to talk to and might even mistake you for another person. However, communication can be carried through music, reading to them, or hugs.
  7. Very Severe Decline
    At this point, the assistance of providers of Home Care in Oakland, California will be of utmost necessity as your loved one will no longer be able to perform most of their basic functions, which can affect their overall health.

As we observe Alzheimer’s awareness month, let us continue to be a vessel of empowerment for those around us who have loved ones with AD. Know that our team at Aveida Home Care will always be here to provide you the assistance you need.

This entry was posted in Alzheimer’s Disease and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *